Transmission Drivetrain- Best Quality Auto parts available for best price The Auto Parts Shop

The drivetrain refers to the group of components that transmit power from the engine to the wheels, allowing the vehicle to move. It typically consists of the following main parts:
1. Transmission: The transmission is responsible for transferring power from the engine to the driveshaft. It provides different gear ratios, allowing the vehicle to operate efficiently at various speeds. There are different types of transmissions:
a. Manual Transmission: Drivers manually select and change gears using a clutch pedal and gear shift.
b. Automatic Transmission: Gears are changed automatically based on factors like vehicle speed and throttle input.
c. Continuously Variable Transmission (CVT): Uses a pulley system to provide an infinite range of gear ratios.
2. Driveshaft: The driveshaft is a rotating shaft that transmits rotational power from the transmission to the differential. It may consist of one or more sections connected by universal joints.
3. Differential: The differential is a gearbox that transfers power from the driveshaft to the two driven wheels, allowing them to rotate at different speeds when turning.
4. Axles: Axles are the final components that connect the differential to the wheels, transmitting power to rotate the wheels.
5. Transfer Case (4WD/AWD): In four-wheel-drive (4WD) or all-wheel-drive (AWD) vehicles, a transfer case splits the power between the front and rear axles.
Other components like the clutch (in manual transmissions), torque converter (in automatic transmissions), and various gears, bearings, and seals are also crucial for the proper functioning of the drivetrain system.